Remind Me To Never Put Things Where I Can Easily Find Them

6 Mar

It happens Every. Single. Time. And, please, tell me it happens to you too… I came home, put my purse down, and walked around for a bit while holding onto my keys. Realizing that my keys were still in my hand, I decided I should put them up before I accidentally lost them. My purse was too far away for me to bother walking, so I just stuck them in the first easy-to-remember-but-out-of-children’s-reach place I saw. Bad idea.

I woke up early this morning for my appointment. I was proud of myself–I was going to be able to get myself and the kids ready, then have time to kill before having to leave to get there 10 minutes early. I get ready, feed the kids, then head to grab something from my car…it’s locked. I walk into my bedroom, open my drawer–where I’m certain I left the keys, but the keys aren’t there. That’s right, I put them on top of the fridge. Hmm, not there either. Oh! My bedside organizer thing! Duh! Nope. On the shelf in the living room, by the door? Nah-uh.

WRONG! THEY AREN'T THERE!!!!

On top of the microwave?

On the coffee table?

In the bathroom, where I’ll see them while getting ready?

In my make-up bag?

In the laundry room?

Under my bed?!

Down under the couch cushions?!

In the box my new camera came in?!?!

Dear God, WHERE ARE THEY?!

My car is push-to-start and, I swear, I even carried the trash bag out to my car and held it up to the door while pressing the button and praying the door unlocked (I was not about to dig through the trash without being sure they were in there..). An hour of searching, and I still have no clue where they are. I finally called and rescheduled my appointment. It’s also Hubby’s birthday and I was supposed to go get his cake before he gets home from work. Now, he will likely come home to a completely destroyed house and find me stuck upside down in the big trash can…desperately searching for the keys. /WIFEFAIL

It’s just like when I hide things from the kids. I hide the thing I do not want them to find and–go figure—I’ve hidden it from myself, too. Why does this happen?

Why, God, WHY?!

It’s not just me, right? …..RIGHT?!?

9 Responses to “Remind Me To Never Put Things Where I Can Easily Find Them”

  1. lashumway March 6, 2012 at 11:28 am #

    I spend a good part of my life looking for my keys. I only do well in the “winter” because I know they’re in the jacket pocket, the rest of the time it’s like a scavenger hunt.

    • Undomesticated Housewife March 8, 2012 at 11:44 am #

      Mine are usually in my purse! I have no idea why I didn’t just walk my lazy ass into the living room and put them in it. /sigh

  2. ellyfilho March 6, 2012 at 9:59 pm #

    OMG I do that all the time and not only to my keys I do it to a lot of things control, hair brush, pens, everythign .. sucks LOL

    Good Luck and hope you found it 🙂

  3. Amy March 7, 2012 at 8:37 am #

    I used to be like this, then I got a key hook near my door. Rarely happens anymore. Even the kids are trained to put them back after they go out to the car for something.

    • Undomesticated Housewife March 8, 2012 at 11:47 am #

      That’s what people keep telling me! I’m going to have to get me one of these hook-things!

  4. Molly March 8, 2012 at 1:34 am #

    No, this happens to me all the time. I’m getting better about it…as soon as I think “I’ll never forget it there…” I stop and put whatever it is where it belongs. Having kids doesn’t help, because they move stuff around! I couldn’t find my watch in the YMCA locker room after JUST having it. In desperation, after looking for a few minutes, I asked my 23-month-old if he knew where it was. He pointed at the garbage can and, lo and behold, there it was. Because he had put it there!! It’s lose-lose, isn’t it?

    • Undomesticated Housewife March 8, 2012 at 11:53 am #

      It is. Unfortunately, I have asked my kids over and over and they swear they haven’t seen them. I still haven’t found it!! I’m wondering if I ever will..

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Bless His Heart « Undomesticated Housewife - March 7, 2012

    […] of the fact that I have no means of transportation right now, my plans to go get a cake and a sweet card–went out the window. Instead, I decided to deep […]

Leave a Reply

