When The Broom Sweeps The Floor By Itself, I’ll Actually Be Impressed

4 Mar

Spo0o0o0oky...Right?? (ignore the towel in the floor..the little shits spilled water)

So, the latest Facebook craze is Magical Broom Standing. For the last 2 nights, I have seen countless posts about how this phenomenon will “only work TONIGHT!!!1!!1!eleventy!”–because of something regarding the perfect alignment of the planets. After last night’s craze, I got up this morning and I took the above picture of my broom standing and posted it in hopes of debunking the myth. Unfortunately, my newsfeed is still full of broom pictures from people who only heard of it today, encouraging everyone else to try it–again–because it will only work tonight. /facepalm

I admit it, this is pretty cool and a great way to freak people out. My husband thought I had some Juju magic going on when I casually let go of the broom, leaving it standing on its own, while we were chatting. It was funny, but not magic. I’m going to let you all in on a little secret: What Hubby didn’t know was that, while I was holding the broom, I was also carefully…

BALANCING IT!

That’s right, y’all. It’s a freaking balancing act! The thing is, the bristles are flexible enough to spread to distribute the weight evenly, yet firm enough to support the weight..allowing it to balance and stand up all by itself. Okay, okay.. that explanation is totally just my own theory, but it definitely isn’t planet alignment.

*****UPDATE*****
Well, y’all, it is morning of March 4th (originally posted this last night) and I have some shocking news…

MY BROOM CAN STILL STAND ON ITS OWN!!!1!1!!!

20120304-143317.jpg

My eggs stand, too!

20120304-172237.jpg

Go ahead, try it. You know you want to…

Leave me a comment and let me know if it works for you..

15 Responses to “When The Broom Sweeps The Floor By Itself, I’ll Actually Be Impressed”

  1. Meg March 4, 2012 at 1:01 am #

    LOL! I have not been unfortunate enough to have my feed bunged up with such asshattery but that’s still pretty funny(read:facepalm) People are so gullible. I balance my brooms all of the time. My kids think it’s hilarious.

  2. Lisa March 4, 2012 at 6:04 am #

    I need a new broom, why just that one night was it supposed to work? Would it work any other time? Very interesting…. Love your title- I just had to come and read the post!

  3. Christie Strayer March 4, 2012 at 7:28 am #

    That’s for the post!

    I tried it and it worked, but I had to find the center of gravity.

  4. Susan March 4, 2012 at 5:00 pm #

    Now if I can just get my broom to SWEEP on it’s own, I’d be set!

    • Ginger Holt March 5, 2012 at 12:52 am #

      Well this has phenomena has been facinating but the offshoot of these goings on is than my broom and eggs have started acting out. I caught my old broom and a fresh young egg in my (ahem) guest bedroom…upsetting when you can’t leave innanimate objects to their own devices anymore.

  5. Molly March 5, 2012 at 1:57 am #

    My broom is a disaster (much like my house) and I’m too lazy to replace it. But I’m going to go try this right now, because otherwise I’d have no excuse not to get to work actually cleaning my house. And if it doesn’t work then it MUST be replaced, which means no sweeping until that happens! Wow! Thanks!

  6. LovingMyMommyLife March 6, 2012 at 11:42 am #

    OMG, I love this post!!! I might have to join this craze of “Magical Broom Standing”!! Would make cleaning more fun, maybe…LOL.

    I stumbled upon your blog via Bloggy Moms. I just followed your blog as well. It’s always nice to read other mom’s thoughts and ideas and such. US MOM’S HAVE TO STICK TOGETHER!!! Look forward to reading more of your posts!!!

  7. mikey March 6, 2012 at 5:26 pm #

    it will actually work for a while until the full equinox is over. not just one night.

  8. Xenia March 7, 2012 at 1:44 am #

    Magic is a wonderfully fun for children and adults alike, but End of the World Doom and conjuring up old superstious beliefs is not. A scientificaly explained “balancing act” the vernal equinox (add the supernatural, superstitions,etc.) flood the Internet turning this “joke” into a not so funny a Joke. But then again, there are just some people who are “out there” and get their jollies in the most ridiculous ways.

  9. Xenia March 7, 2012 at 1:57 am #

    brooms that stand on their own are said to be haunted

    • Xenia March 7, 2012 at 2:20 am #

      Do not lean a broom against the bed. Evil spirits in the broom will cast a spell on the bed.
      Never bring old brooms into new houses…(an old broom becomes
      attached to houses…always leave the old one behind….)

      If you feel as though you are being followed and haunted by
      unfriendly ghosts, stepping over a broomstick will prevent them from
      disturbing you

      If you want someone to leave your house that has stayed too long… you turn your broom upside down. They will leave shortly after that- -try it!

      Never walk on a broom.

      Never sweep upstairs rooms in the afternoon.

      Never sweep the room of a departing guest until he has been gone for
      some time, or else your sweeping will bring him back
      AAlways sweep dustballs into the middle of a
      rom…..they will protect against bad luck

  10. Xenia March 7, 2012 at 2:24 am #

    Placing a broom across any doorway allows your departed friends and family to speak to you if they so choose. As long as the broom remains in place, they can communicate freely.

Leave a Reply

