Married With ADHD: The Blame Game & Future Headline News

24 Feb

The Blame Game is super popular around here. Having been diagnosed with a pretty severe case of ADHD and being married to a man who has also been diagnosed, I assume it’s fairly normal.

-Where are my shoes?
-Last time I was wearing them…
-If you don’t help me find them, I’m going to be late!

-Have you seen my keys?
-No, have you seen mine?

-Where did we park?

-Why didn’t you remind me to turn?! Now, we’ve missed our exit and can’t turn around for 2 miles!
-I forgot where we were going! Besides, you didn’t remind me to remind you!

-Can you remind me that I have an appointment tomorrow?
-Sure, if I remember.

-I forgot about my appointment today and can’t be seen again for another two months! Why didn’t you remind me?!
-I forgot, too! It’s not my responsibility to keep up with your appointments!

-Tomorrow night, we cannot get sidetracked and wait until 12 AM to go to bed!

-Hey, you ready for bed?
(hyper-focusing) -Yeah…5 more minutes! I’ve just got to finish this one thing…
-Seriously? It’s 10 PM!
(2 hrs later) -Okay, I’m done. You ready?
-Give me just a minute, I’m reading something..

-I’m going to make a grocery list so we won’t forget what we need..

-Where is the grocery list?
-Fuck! I forgot it!

-When do I get my ring?
-What ring?
-The ring you said you were having set with the emerald you brought home for me from your last deployment…remember? You said you were going to have it set for me almost 2 months ago.
-Oh, umm..you didn’t remind me! You were supposed to remind to do the sweet things I claimed I was going to do for you all on my own!

On top of the forgetfulness and hyper-focusing, organization is a total bust. My husband also has a slight hoarding problem. If it’s free or someone is giving it away for “REALLY CHEAP!”, he brings it home. It doesn’t matter if we need it. Okay, I might have a problem, too. Maybe… but, ANYWAY! Every single one of our closets are packed full. I warn people that they shouldn’t open them, or do so at their own risk. Nine out of ten drawers are junk drawers. At one time, we had an entire room of “Shit that I have no clue where it goes..”. Now, that shit is spread around, randomly. I am just waiting for the day that headline news reads:

    Undomesticated Housewife & Hubby Found Buried Alive Beneath Their Own Clutter

Now, here we are..getting ready to move, and I’m totally lost. I’ll think somewhere like a bathroom is a good place to start packing,  but I quickly get overwhelmed and stop. Kitchen? Maybe.. But what first? Pans? Plates? Medicine cabinet? Sure, lets venture into the medicine cabinet and pack away the non-essentials.

Oh, look, here are Sugar’s crafts from Christmas! I should do something with these…they shouldn’t be packed with the medications..

Realizing I’m off track, I move to the pantry.

Hey! There’s the Tupperware I have been looking for..and brownie mix. Mmmmm, brownies. I should make some…

Screw it. I quit.

10 Responses to “Married With ADHD: The Blame Game & Future Headline News”

  1. Tracy February 24, 2012 at 3:09 am #

    I can’t stop laughing. We have that same hoarding problem in my house! We’ve moved a couple times and I think ‘haha! In your face, junk! I’ve thrown you all out!’ until I look around 3 months later and it’s all been replaced by other useless junk.

    This post was way too funny. Thanks 🙂

    • Undomesticated Housewife February 26, 2012 at 4:16 am #

      Exactly! It just appears out of nowhere. I often walk into rooms, throw up my hands and say, “fuck it!” What’s the point in trying, really? It will all just consume my life again in a matter of weeks.. It’s like herpes, not sure where it came from, but it WON’T.GO.AWAY. Thanks for reading, by the way!

  2. Karren February 24, 2012 at 3:40 am #

    I swear I wish we didnt collect so much stuff, where and why does it just happen? I can relate to ADHD ADD, I had 3 kids that were plagued and it was an all new diagnosis’s. Thank goodness we did not use ritalin, gut instinct helped me to make sure one thing we didnt do was use artificial sweeteners, watch our diets, and lots of patients and a different way of teaching for the teachers and the help at home. I am stopping by from the Alexa Hop on Racing and Savings Mama to show support and help boost your Alexa rating.
    Hope you can do the same for me at Oh! My Heartsie
    Hope this helps to boost your ratings, Thanks in advance, Karren

    • Undomesticated Housewife February 26, 2012 at 4:19 am #

      Thanks, I will do the same! I wish I’d never gone on stimulants, sometimes. I can’t get off of them now and will be tied to them forever, it seems. I’m slowly integrating the ADHD/autism diet and trying to get rid of gluten. It has been challenging, but hopefully will be worth it for us all! It’s a lifestyle change, for sure..

  3. SRM February 25, 2012 at 1:14 am #

    OMG you totally wrote my life! We do the same thing over here! I found you on the weekend blog hop and now I’m following! Thanks for the laugh! Stop by and say hi if you remember ;
    )
    http://suburbanrebelmom.blogspot.com/

    • Undomesticated Housewife February 26, 2012 at 4:20 am #

      I’m following as well, too, I believe. I will double check now, though! And Lord, have mercy..I’m sorry you deal with the same shit!

  4. Mamatink February 25, 2012 at 3:26 am #

    That is so funny! I am following from the Weekend Blog Hop! Come Visit!

    • Undomesticated Housewife February 26, 2012 at 4:21 am #

      Thanks! And thank you for stopping by! I will head over and follow if I haven’t already!

  5. Casey Kiroy Mixon February 27, 2012 at 4:54 am #

    LOL That is our life EXACTLY! Freecycle and online Facebook yard sale groups are my down fall! And I actually have done the brownie thing…actually they are in the oven now..reorganizing my kitchen sounded like a GREAT idea at 11pm and I found oreos and brownies… yeah distraction woot!
    BTW I need followers for my new blog 😦 I am lonely over there lol
    http://crazybusynavywifeandmom.blogspot.com/
    + if I have followers maybe I’ll remember to post more lol hope you stop in to say Hi!

Leave a Reply

