‘Never Say Never’, ‘If It’s Meant To Be, It Will Be’, & Other Dumb Shit People Say

22 Feb

Never Say Never

Recently, I found out that an ex-friend slept with another woman’s husband…because she was mad at the other woman. When I found out, I expressed my disgust. She informed me that I shouldn’t judge because I could find myself in the same position one day. I told her I’d never do such a thing, that I had morals, and she should get some, too. Her response? “Never say never.” Are you shitting me? I’m pretty confident when saying that I will never sleep with another woman’s husband out of spite..or at all, for that matter. There are plenty of other things that I can also say “Never!” about. Like what, you ask? (for the sake of the post, yes, you asked) Here is a small portion of the list:

I Will Never…

  • Shave my head, assuming there are no medical reasons for it

  • Pierce my eyebrow (never liked the look of that piercing, honestly)

  • Fly a plane (no depth perception, sadly)

  • Smoke crack

Let's ignore the bad grammar in this poster..

  • Get busy with Gerard Butler

This one makes me sad.

What’s Meant To Be, Will Be

You know what I don’t like about this? I don’t like the fact that it implies that you have no control over outcomes. Sometimes you do not have control and this saying is true, but I often hear it applied to things like troubled marriages or career advancement. Sometimes, you have to work your ass off to make things happen. You can’t sit by idly  in a marriage that desperately needs some work, and just assume that if it’s meant to be, it will work itself out. You can’t go to school and slack off, then claim it just “wasn’t meant to be.” If you want something that you have at least a little bit of control over, TAKE CONTROL. Make it happen! If after you have done ALL you could do, you are free to say that it wasn’t meant to be.

What Goes Around, Comes Around

Unfortunately, what goes around, does not always come around. Sometimes, it seems that what goes around gets stuck somewhere. My husband and I have always been very generous whenever we are able. We have recently found that the more you help people out, the more they expect. When you give what you didn’t have to give, people tend to assume that you must have not only had it to give, but also had extra. When you go out of your way to help people out, they sometimes assume that you have time and resources to spare. So, when you find yourself in need, the people you have helped often seem to assume that you aren’t really in need. Maybe this isn’t true for others, but it has been for us recently. I personally know plenty of people who are always being “helped out”, but refuse to help others out when they can. This is not to say that you should never help people out. In fact, I don’t believe you should ever help people out just to get something in return (unless you have a deal). My husband and I will continue to give what we can, when we do have extra to give. We will continue to help others when we have the resources. However, I will no longer entertain the idea that I can possibly turn to those I have helped when I need something even as simple as a baby sitter. We will also no longer feel obligated to help every person we barely know, when doing so will put us in a bind.

Good Things Come To Those Who Wait

(this is awfully similar to the “What’s meant to be, will be” one, but just go with it, k?)

Not always! There are quite a few things I have been waiting on that STILL. HAVEN’T. COME. We live in a go-getter world, these days! If you want it, you better set out to get it on your own. Also, when you have a husband like mine, if you just silently sit around and wait on things that are supposed to be coming your way, he will forget what you are waiting on and it won’t come.

(if you could see me now, you would see that I look bitter)

 

Common sayings/phrases that make you cringe? Piss you off? Make no sense? Let me know!

15 Responses to “‘Never Say Never’, ‘If It’s Meant To Be, It Will Be’, & Other Dumb Shit People Say”

  1. Kim Harper February 22, 2012 at 7:42 pm #

    Certain situations you have no control over…. but you’re always in complete control of your own actions. I, too, am sad that I will never get busy with Gerard Butler 🙂

  2. Sharon Moms Madhouse (@crazykids6) February 22, 2012 at 11:00 pm #

    Wow…she was a real winner, wasn’t she? Jeez-us!

    Never say never…whata crock. You are right on with everything you said!

    Including no busy with Gerard! LOL

    Glad to see you busy on your blog again 🙂

    Sharon
    http://sharon-moms-madhouse.com/

    • Undomesticated Housewife February 23, 2012 at 8:53 am #

      Thanks! My good friend is over at http://www.viewsfromthecouch.com and when one of her posts went viral, I started getting insane amounts of hits despite not posting anything. I figured I should get back at it and give them something to read while visiting! Lol

  3. housewifedownunder February 22, 2012 at 11:11 pm #

    People who say these things drive me nuts, too! Sometimes I want to say to them, “Are you so stupid that all you could think of to say was a meaningless cliche?” and then bop them on the head.

  4. Ashley February 23, 2012 at 7:34 am #

    Well said. I especially hate the “What’s Meant To Be, Will Be”, I got that one a lot after my first couple of miscarriages… and then people wonder why I stopped telling them I’d has more? Asshats.

    Oh, and that ex friend is a super winner huh?

  5. Danielle February 23, 2012 at 8:43 am #

    Loving your blog!

  6. EmmaK February 23, 2012 at 2:23 pm #

    Awesome blog! Made me giggle! Yes ususually we have more control than we like to admit about our decisions. But we still make poor decisions sometimes!

  7. charlywalker February 23, 2012 at 4:41 pm #

    Things happen for a reason……LOL

    nice post!

    • Undomesticated Housewife February 26, 2012 at 4:05 am #

      Yes!!! This one drives me batty! I meant to include it, but mid writing the post..dun dun dun dunnnnnn..ADHD strikes again! But, yes, that’s a good one. Sometimes, fucked up things just happen. Probably because other fucked up things happened and caused someone else to be fucked up and do those fucked up things. People! People are the REASON! /rant

  8. Kim February 25, 2012 at 4:30 pm #

    Okay, I’m sad that I’ll never get busy with Gerard Butler either. Love this blog!

    • Undomesticated Housewife February 26, 2012 at 4:24 am #

      Isn’t it a shame? You know how..when you are a pre-teen and finally realize that you will not ever be with your celebrity obsession…then you cry yourself to sleep at night? That did happen o other people, right? Well, I do that now knowing that I will never have 2minutes alone with him. He’s on my freebie list, just in case, but I’m trying to come to grips with reality. /sigh

  9. Bob's your uncle February 26, 2012 at 12:23 pm #

    The one I love/hate is “God will find a way”. You know god’s plan? Well, if you wouldn’t mind…we would all like to know what exactly he’s gonna do so please put us in the know! So, come on. Since you and god are so tight…

Leave a Reply

